The Astrology Big 6 – A Comprehensive Overview

Astrology has been around for thousands of years and continues to fascinate people today. One of the core components of astrology is what’s known as the “Big 6” – the six major aspects between the planets.

Getting a handle on the Big 6 is key to understanding yourself and your relationships through the lens of astrology. In this post, we’ll take a deep dive into each of the Big 6 aspects.

What Are Aspects?

Before jumping into the Big 6 specifically, let’s make sure we understand aspects in general. Aspects are defined as the geometric angles formed between two planets in an astrology chart. Major aspects are angles of 0°, 60°, 90°, 120°, and 180°.

The nature of an aspect comes down to how compatible the energies of the two planets are. Aspects are categorized as flowing (or soft) aspects, which are harmonious, and tense (or hard) aspects, which create friction. The flowing aspects are the trine (120°) and sextile (60°). The tense aspects are the conjunction (0°), square (90°), and opposition (180°).

So aspects essentially reveal how two planetary energies interact within a person. When looking at your own chart or synastry with someone else, the aspects between planets will tell an enlightening story about inner drives, relationships, challenges, gifts, and more.<br>

Introducing the Big 6

Now let’s get into the essential aspects known as the Big 6. These are:

  • Conjunction
  • Sextile
  • Square
  • Trine
  • Opposition
  • Quincunx

We’ll now break down each of these key aspects.<br>

The Conjunction

The conjunction is the most powerful aspect, formed when two planets are 0° apart. This brings a fusion of the two planetary energies involved.

Conjunctions blend planetary forces in a harmonious way, but can also lead to intensification of characteristics, almost to excess. For example, the Moon conjunct Venus may give an extremely affectionate nature, while the Sun conjunct Mars could indicate aggression.

Overall, conjunctions highlight parts of yourself that work together. Planets in close conjunction will define key traits, strengths, or challenges for you.

The Sextile

The sextile aspect forms when two planets are 60° apart. This stabilizing aspect brings planetary energies into a friendly relationship, facilitating cooperation.

Sextiles create opportunities for growth and balanced expression. The planets stimulate each other in a complementary, rather than over-the-top manner. For instance, Mercury sextile Jupiter helps bring lively communication with optimism.

In your chart, look at any sextiles between personal planets (Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars) and outer planets for keys to harnessing your best talents.

The Square

The square occurs when planets are 90° apart, creating friction between their energies. This tense aspect indicates challenges and obstructions.

Squares show parts of yourself that clash, causing inner conflict. Growth occurs through effort to overcome struggles between the planets involved. For example, the Moon square Saturn aspect may point to emotional barriers.

By looking at the squares in your birth chart, you can identify your main growth areas in life. Motivation comes from working to iron out the discord between planets in square.

The Trine

When planets are 120° apart, they form a harmonious trine aspect. Trines bring their planetary energies into smooth alignment.

This flowing aspect points to innate gifts and talents. The planetary forces enhance each other effortlessly. For instance, the Sun trine Mars aspect indicates a natural vitality.

Trines show where you have innate skills and can excel with joy. Identifying the trines in your chart reveals your areas of opportunity.

The Opposition

Planets that form an opposition are directly across from each other at 180°. The opposition aspect indicates tension between contrasting energies.

Oppositions require balancing opposing needs between two planets. However, by integrating their energies effectively, you can produce positive results. For example, the Moon opposition Venus aspect may involve balancing emotional versus social needs.

In your own chart, oppositions signal that you must learn to strike a balance between conflicting impulses. Mastering opposition aspects helps bring inner equilibrium.

The Quincunx

The quincunx is the most minor hard aspect, formed when planets are 150° apart. This creates an awkward, hard to reconcile alignment between planetary forces.

A quincunx signals adjustments needed between parts of yourself that work differently. Benefits come from learning to blend disparate tendencies. For instance, an Aries Sun quincunx Pisces Moon blend fiery and watery qualities.

Quincunxes in your chart indicate areas where you need to find innovative ways to integrate contrasting parts of yourself.

Unlocking Your Chart through the Big 6

As you can see, the six major aspects – the conjunction, sextile, square, trine, opposition, and quincunx – provide the basic building blocks of astrology. Getting to know the Big 6 gives you keys for understanding how planetary energies interact within you.

Analyzing the aspects between planets in your natal chart reveals fresh self-knowledge to guide you on your path. The most profound insights come from blending introspection with astrological symbolism. Use the Big 6 as tools for a richer perspective on your inner landscape and the world around you.


Cafe Astrology. “Astrology Aspects.”

astrology 42. “Understanding the Astrological Aspects.”

The Astrology Place. “Aspects.”

Leave a comment